Henry Quartey, Seth Acheampong and George Boakye faces Appointment Committee

Accra, March 1, GNA - The Appointment Committee of Parliament would continue its hearing to consider three more of President Akufo-Addo’s nominees for ministerial roles.

Mr Henry Quartey, Mr Seth Acheampong and Mr George Boakye, Ministers Designate for Greater Accra, Eastern and Ahafo Regions respectively are expected to appear before the Committee for vetting.

The three nominees who have been nominated by the President Akufo-Addo were persons who held positions in his first term in office.

The first nominee to appear before the Committee would be Mr Quartey, former Deputy Minister for Interior and Member of Parliament (MP) for Ayawaso Central.

The nominee who served as Deputy Minister of Interior in the President’s first term has now been elevated to be the Greater Accra Regional Minister.

Also, Mr Seth Acheampong, former Member of Parliament (MP) Mpraeso who served as the Chair of the Defense and Interior Committee of Parliament has been nominated by President Akufo-Addo for ministerial portfolio as the Eastern Regional Minister.

The nominee was instrumental as Chairman of the Defense and Interior Committee to ensure the passage of many important legislation for the sector.

Further, Mr George Boakye, former Member of Parliament (MP) for Asunafo South has been appointed by President Akufo-Addo to serve as the Regional Minister for Ahafo one of the newly created regions in the country.